Home > General > Installing Windows Server 2008 R2 as a guest OS on VMware server

Installing Windows Server 2008 R2 as a guest OS on VMware server

last week I wanted to install a VM on a laptop, in order to install Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 as a guest operating system. I downloaded VMware server, which is free now, and insert the OS disk, but I got black screen telling me my hardware is not compatible for 64 bit operating system.

It was very strange, because my host OS is 64 bit already. I googled on it a little bit, and I found the Processor Check for 64-bit compatibility tool from VMware. after running the tool I found out that my processor is good enough for running 64 bit VM’s, and I must look for the problem in another place.

my next step was raising an issue in the VMware community forum, and finally I got the answer from there: Enable the VT-x setting in the BIOS menu. I put the OS disk drive again, and now it works perfectly!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

